top of page

The Modes: An Intro

Mia Manamea

The Modes

A lot of times people ask what differentiates the signs that fall in the same elemental family (fire, earth, air, and water). For instance, if Aries and Sagittarius are both fire signs, why do they express their fire in different ways? The answer: They have different modes. The modes in astrology tell us how the elemental energy will behave. Cardinal signs mark the start of a new season. They are what I call the “Make It Happen Captains” or instigators. Fixed signs utilize the tools they have to stabilize what’s been started. Mutable signs are programmed to let go or disperse what is in preparation for what’s to come.


aries, cancer, libra, capricorn

"make it happen captains."

  • Aries instigates action

  • Cancer instigates emotional ties and bonds.

  •  Libra instigates relationships and partnerships.

  • Capricorn instigates a long-haul plan.


taurus, leo, scorpio, aquarius

"i ain't a killer but dont push me."

  • Taurus utilizes the power of the material world.

  • Leo utilizes the power of the persona.

  • Scorpio utilizes the power of its intense emotions.

  • Aquarius utilizes the power of the intellect.


gemini, virgo, sagittarius, pisces

"let go and let God"

  • Gemini scatters information

  • Virgo scatters skills

  • Sagittarius scatters enthusiasm 

  • Pisces scatters dreams and visions.

bottom of page